2017 Henriette Reiss Award Recipients

Myra Crane (class of 2017)   Gwendolyn Sherman (class of 1998)



About the Award

The Henriette Reiss Award at Hawthorne Valley was created in 1993 through the generosity of Elizabeth Hughes Papas to honor the work and spirit of artist/teacher Henriette Reiss (1889-1992).

Winold Reiss, Henriette Reiss
23 1/2" x 19 1/8", pastel on paper, 1912

Central to the life and work of Henriette Reiss was the abiding insight that art is crucial to individual and social development, a view also embraced and furthered in Waldorf schools around the world. The recognition of these truths moved Elizabeth Papas, who lived in Philmont, to establish an award at the nearby Hawthorne Valley Waldorf School, in order to help aspiring students further their educations in the arts.

The award is given annually to Hawthorne Valley School seniors and/or alumni. It is administered by the Henriette Reiss Award Committee which solicits applications, selects recipients, organizes award events, and engages in fundraising. Committee members are David Anderson, Pamela Dalton, Eric Muller, Ted Pugh, Rebecca Reiss, Renate Reiss, George Riley, and Fern Sloan. The award's endowment fund is part of the school's endowment. Award amounts can vary from year to year and have ranged from $500 to $1,500, depending on the success of annual fundraising efforts to supplement endowment income.